self care ?

„The truth is: you can’t „love“ your body into thinness. But then it really hit me. Thinness is not only seen as a guarantee of access to romance, success, and happiness. It is also culturally seen as the ultimate way to show that you CARE about and LOVE your body. Maybe I was being naive or had my head under a rock. Maybe this has been going on for a long ass time and I just totally missed the way that body love/body acceptance language was being used to promote what I am against. (…)But let me be clear: trying to force your body to be a certain size isn’t self love.“

Virgie Tovar

Kommentar verfassen

